Polls for 6 Rajya Sabha seats from Maharashtra on March 23

Polls for 6 Rajya Sabha seats from Maharashtra on March 23

The Election Commission on Friday announced that polls to 58 RS seats, including six in Bihar, will be held on March 23.

In August 2017, the BJP overtook Congress and became the largest political party in the Rajya Sabha.

Of the 58 Rajya Sabha seats going to polls on 23 March, the top three states in terms of the number of seats are NDA-ruled.

The three Upper House seats that will fall vacant in April here include that of Abhishek Manu Singhvi and Narendra Budania of Congress and Bhupendra Yadav of BJP.

Rajya Sabha members are elected for 5 years but elections are held every two years for almost one-third of the strength of the house.

After it assumed power at the Centre on May 26, 214, gaining absolute majority in the Lok Sabha, the BJP had to struggle in the Upper House where the Opposition blocked several key legislations, including the recent triple talaq Bill.

The small and sulking Hindustani Awam Morcha (HAM), led by former Bihar chief minister and Dalit leader Jitan Ram Manjhi, is raring to extract its pound of flesh when Rajya Sabha polls in the state are round the corner.

Presently, the Congress and the NCP each have two of these six seats while the BJP and Shiv Sena share the remaining. The following states from where the seats are getting vacant are Uttar Pradesh (10), Bihar (6), Maharashtra (6), Bengal and Madhya Pradesh (5 each), Karnataka and Gujarat (4 each), Jharkhand (2), Chattisgarh, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh and Uttrakhand (1 each). "Manjhi is a senior, respected leader who has always strengthened NDA", said senior BJP leader and health minister Mangal Pandey, declining to elaborate on the crisis faced by the coalition.

March 12 is the last date for filing of nominations, and March 15, the last date for their withdrawal. The equation of these parties with the NDA may, however, change in the coming months with State elections and Lok Sabha polls closing by.

Four other BSP Rajya Sabha MPs are also ending their tenure.

Related Articles