Armen Sarkissian is the New President of Armenia

Armen Sarkissian is the New President of Armenia

"Ninety lawmakers voted for Sarkissian, 10 voted against".

Armen Sargsyan will replace Serzh Sargsyan (no relation), who is expected to become prime minister and continue to hold power after a December 2105 referendum changed Armenia's form of government from a semi-presidential republic to a parliamentary system. The president was previously selected through a direct popular vote by the public.

Following the parliament voter Sarkissian met with President Serzh Sarkisian at the presidential compound, where the president offered his congratulations to the incoming leader.

According to the country's new constitutional laws, parliament now elect the president to a single seven-year term.

Ninety lawmakers voted in favor of the 64-year-old Sarkissian, a former prime minister and now the country's ambassador to the United Kingdom; 10 voted against; and one lawmaker abstained.

Outgoing Sarksyan became president in 2008 and nominated former prime minister Sarkissian to succeed him in January. Many Armenians accuse the government of corruption and mishandling the economy.

Armenian President Sarksyan also faced vehement opposition from nationalists at home and the powerful Armenian diaspora overseas. He served as prime minister for four months in 1996-1997 before being again named ambassador in London. Nagorno-Karabakh now is under the control of forces that claim to be local ethnic Armenians but that Azerbaijan alleges include Armenian troops.

The border between the two countries has remained closed since Armenia gained independence following the Soviet Union's collapse in 1991.

Related Articles