Biplab Kumar Deb takes oath as the Chief Minister of Tripura

Biplab Kumar Deb takes oath as the Chief Minister of Tripura

Tripura Chief Minister Biplab Kumar Deb said Bangladesh Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina today congratulated him on becoming the new CM of the state.

"I want to assure that in Tripura's march towards development, the central government will provide full cooperation with the motto of cooperative federalism", he said.

Chief Secretary Sanjeev Ranjan, in a notification, said Mr Deb would be in charge of seven departments - home, PWD, industries and commerce, urban development, general administration, labour, information and cultural affairs - apart from being responsible for all the policies and any other department not allocated to any minister.

Biplab Kumar Deb was sworn in as the first chief minister of BJP in Tripura, at a grand ceremony here on Friday.

Addressing a press meet held today at the head office of BJP, Manipur Pradesh located at Nityaipat Chuthek, Saratkumar said that leaders and workers of BJP, Manipur Pradesh stayed in Tripura and held intensified election rallies and campaigns in the Meitei and Manipuri Bishnupriya dominated areas ahead of the Assembly Election.

The BJP secured 35 seats in the 60-member Tripura Assembly, with the Indigenous People's Front of Tripura (IPFT), a tribes-based party, securing 8.

BJP's Tripura state in charge, Sunil Deodhar, is apprehensive of the septic tanks inside the houses allotted to his party's newly-elected MLAs as he fears that they might be contaminated.

Outgoing CM Manik Sarkar, who ruled for 25 years, was also in attendance. The swearing-in ceremony was also attended by BJP president Amit Shah along with several Union ministers and chief ministers of the BJP-ruled states. I even love the communist and Manik Sarkar, but I am annoyed that they got so much time but didn't utilise the resources of the state to develop it. "Presence of these stalwarts reiterated the importance of the winning", said a senior BJP leader.

Out of three northeast states that BJP won in, it was Tripura's swearing-in ceremony that witnessed most of the top leadership turning up for it. "My job is to ensure that we take Tripura on the path of development and IPFT leader NC Debbarma also realises that".

Related Articles