Voting for Gorakhpur, Phulpur LS bypolls underway

Voting for Gorakhpur, Phulpur LS bypolls underway

The balloting percentage in Gorakhpur, represented in the Lok Sabha by Yogi Adityanath before he became the Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh, in 2014 was 54.64 per cent. A constituency won by Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath on five successive occasions, the saffron party not only has to win Gorakhpur but also retain, if not increase, Adityanath's 2014 victory margin of almost 3.13 lakh votes.

Snags in the electronic voting machines (EVMs) were reported from some places.

A total of 19.61 voters are eligible to cast their mandate inn Phulpur, whereas, the electoral size in Gorakhpur is 19.49 lakh.

Continuing his tirade against the SP-BSP alliance, the CM said under previous governments, women, farmers, youths, traders felt insecure due to hooliganism but at present there was peace and harmony in the state with criminals being put behind bars while many had fled due to rapid crackdown.

The Bahujan Samaj Party is doing for its old enemy, the Samajwadis, what the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh has been doing for its progeny, the BJP, for decades. "They know it's an alliance of opportunism and a deal", said Yogi said moments before leaving for the rally ground at Ram Chaura from Gorakhnath temple.

In Bihar, voting for by-election in Araria Lok Sabha seat and two assembly seats in Jehanabad and Bhabua are being held.

"I am confident that on March 14, the record which was made in Phulpur in 2014 (Lok Sabha general elections) will be repeated, and our candidate Kaushalendra Patel will emerge victorious", he told reporters after casting his vote for Phulpur parliamentary constituency along with his family members.

There are 19.49 lakh eligible voters, including over 8 lakh women.

Nishad Party president Sanjay Nishad, whose son Praveen is the Samajwadi candidate in Gorakhpur, lauded the BSP's campaign effort. "Their (SP-BSP) votes will be transferred only when they have enough votes".

Nagendra Pratap Patel, Samajwadi candidate from Phulpur, said: "The way the BSP cadres are working for me is unbelievable".

The Phulpur seat has 793 polling centres and 2,059 polling stations.

The BJP has fielded Kaushlendra Singh Patel against Nagendra Singh Patel of the SP. The BSP vote bank has shifted to BJP and it will vote for BJP candidates,"Maurya claimed". The Congress has fielded Manish Mishra.

Related Articles