Gmail for Android adds confidential mode

Gmail for Android adds confidential mode

We first learned about Google's new "confidential mode" for Gmail back in April: a feature to help users better protect sensitive information they send to their contacts.

Implementing confidential mode is a fairly easy process that's similar across both Android and iOS. Many new features were added that built on work Google had done with other applications and were finally bringing over to the email platform. They can use confidential mode to set an expiration date for messages or even revoke access to the message at any time.

Gmail's confidential mode is an interesting feature for email that provides low-level protection for your messages.




The Confidential Mode allows the senders to put a time stamp on their emails, like a countdown, after which the email disappears from the recipients' accounts. At any point, you can once again renew access if you want. Of course, the feature is only available in the latest iteration of Gmail and is now limited to mobile devices, meaning it won't be accessible for those using the "classic Gmail" layout in a browser. This is done by going into your Sent folder, opening the email in question, and tapping the "Remove Access" button that appears at the bottom.

On the top right, tap on three dots and tap on Confidential Mode. Confidential mode is not encrypted end-to-end, so Google could in fact read your messages in transit. If you choose this, the recipient will get a text with a passcode, and have to enter it to open the message. Taking screenshots is, however, still allowed. Also, depending on your settings, the attachments in the mail will be or will not be secured by a passcode.

Related Articles